Wednesday, March 10, 2010

Day 3

My job for Day 2 was to post a summary of what our group had discussed. Well, there was very little discussion and more of folks just getting their work done. Is it wrong for me to think that people should be doing or trying to be the students they are reading about in our text? One of my classmates actually e-mailed me and stated that they really wanted to try and get some cool stuff going for our Day 4 information, but that they were discouraged by the lack of participation and thought it wasn't worth the effort. This is exactly what I experience a lot of times - the attitude of the participants seems to be that of "let me get enough input to get by and get a passing grade." This particular course lends itself to folks wanting to discuss these ideas and feed off of one another. But, to me, there are still some that are not here to learn, they here merely to get the COI designation to tack on to the end of their e-mail signature. I genuinely want to learn from my peers in this area because I don't get a lot of chances to communicate with people outside of my daily job. I actually wanted to establish community, but others in our particular group are preventing that. Hopefully tomorrow's discussion will be better - if not, I will just have to say to myself "Only 1 day left"...

No comments:

Post a Comment